Disc Golf Target Basket

I’ve been playing disc golf occasionally for the last few years and I always thought the target / basket would be something I could make.  I did a little research on the internet thinking I would run across some good plans.  There weren’t any that I liked so I made my own.  My design needed to be semi portable and require no welding.

From Disc golf target

Tools required

  • drill & drill bits
  • string & pencil
  • jig saw

Supplies

  • 3/4″ Ply wood
  • 1 in pipe
  • 12 U bolts
  • chain
  • Large (3″) key ring (can substitute with wire)
  • nuts and bolts
    • 12 nuts, bolts, and washers for attaching the Galv Floor Flanges
    • 24 nuts to fit U bolts (2 extra for each)
  • dowels 3/4″ or 1″
  • 2 – 1″ Galv Floor Flange
  • 1- 1 1/4″ Galv FLR Flange
  • 1- 1 1/4″ Galv nipple

I tried to make my disc golf target fairly close to the ones at my local course which uses the Innova DISCatcher® PRO Disc Golf Target. Most of the dimensions for that target can be found by following the link above.  The only dimension I couldn’t find was the depth of the basket which I measured to be 9 inches

Step 1

Cut 3, 26 inch diameter circles from a sheet of plywood.  Take one of the circles and cut out a 22 inch circle within in.  The resulting ring will be used as the rim of the basket portion of the target so be careful not to cut through it.  The 22 inch circle will be the top portion where the chain is attached.  The easiest way I’ve found to cut the circles is to use a nail, pencil, string and jigsaw.  Tie the pencil and nail together 13 inches appart pound the nail in the center and use it to draw a 26 inch diameter circle.  Cut out the circle with the jigsaw.

Step 2

On the 22 inch circle draw a line from the center every 30 degrees (12 lines)  to determine where the U bolts should go.  drill holes for your u bolts.  Each U bolt will require four nuts.  A nut will go on each side of the plywood.  washers are optional.

Note: The U bolts are are sort of optional although I highly recommend them.  You could stick a bolt through the last link of the chain and bolt it to the plywood.

Step 3

Cut your chain in approximately two foot lengths (for me this was 20 links).  Slip one end of the chain on each u bolt and attach them too the plywood circle.  Place the other end of each chain on a large key ring.  The key ring can be substituted with wire but wire will not hold the circular shape.

step 4

Cut 12, 8 inch long dowels and attach them to one of the 26 inch circles (again every 30 degrees).  Attach the ring to the the dowels as well.  now you should have a basket

step 5

Cut the pipe to 55 inches and thread each end.  Most hardware stores will be able to do this for you when you purchase the pipe.

step 6

Attach the 1″ Galv FLR Flanges to the top and base circles.  Drill a 1″ diameter hole through the center of the basket, screw the 1 1/4″ nipple into the 1 1/4″ Galv FLR Flange and attach it to the basket.

step 7

slide the basket onto the pipe and screw on the top and bottom.  Position the basket where it looks right and drill a hole through the nipple and then through the pipe.

step 8 (optional)
An inner ring of chins can be added to the target for better catching.  You will need 6 extra u bolts and some more chain.  the length of chain for the inner ring should be shorter approximately  16 inches (18 links of my chain).  The Innova targets at my local course have 3 rings of chains. for a total of 24 chains.  The single ring seems to work but occasionally lets the disc through.

please see my update on this disc golf target

14 Responses to Disc Golf Target Basket

  1. randy says:

    you said every 60 degrees, that doesnt make 12 lines, its 30 degrees

  2. Jeff says:

    Hey,

    Did you split to pipe into two pieces? How did you get the basket to stay in place?

  3. carson says:

    hey thanks a lot for the plans. i did not use your directions but all the supplies im useing are the same. this was a great help with my basket. i have everything asembled that is wood and right now im waiting for the paint to dry. i just wish i had some diffrent paint, the only paint i have is hunting green left over from my fishing boat. you might want to go over how to make a circle out of wood, i think that was the hardest part. and lineing up the holes for the u-bolts was a pain in the u no what. thanks a lot for everything i wish i could add some pictures to your plans…
    -carson

    • charleswolf says:

      Thanks for the feedback. I’ve added a little bit on how I cut the circles out. My paint wasn’t the color I wanted either but at least the plywood wont rot. The u-bolts are a little bit tricky. Using a size bigger drill bit helped for me. If you’d like to create a photo album of your basket, I’d be willing to link to it.

  4. adam says:

    hey the design looks great and I would love to build one. How much did it cost you and what store did you use, just so I can get an idea. I will be going to home depot and they’ll have everything I need, I’m just trying to keep the price down, also my backyard isn’t level how does your basket do on uneven ground, any tips to improve it on uneven grounds?

    • charleswolf says:

      The design seems to be pretty stable on uneven ground but it may not stand perfectly straight.
      you will probably be able to find everything at a store like home depot.

  5. Bill says:

    Charles,
    Nice target. Could you please and update. I’m interested in knowing where you are located, if you store the target indoors/outdoors, and how the target has weathered over time.

    • charleswolf says:

      I’m located in Minnesota and I keep the target indoors during the winter. I painted the target with a deck paint which seems to be holding up quite well. The target will eventually need repainting to protect the plywood.

  6. Kangaroo says:

    Hey… I love your plans. Wish I knew how you could tweak them though to add an inner set of chains…

  7. Jason says:

    Just found this I like it. How has it held up? and do you think that PVC would work better then the wood dowels?

    • charleswolf says:

      Its holding up pretty well for being made of wood. The problem with PVC is figuring a way to attach it. Maybe I could slide PVC segments over the wood dowels.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

